I have a project which I update using Web Update, and upload data to an FTP server, and have been experimenting with the settings. A couple did not work as I assumed they would. I just want to check if they are working as expected, or if there is anything else I need to do.
- Transfer, Send on sync:
when the option is checked I assumed it would send data when a project was updated on the mobile device, as existing sightings may not be compatible with the new version of the project.
However when I update the project, the existing sightings are not sent, but do seem to be marked as sent, as when I go to the Send Data screen I see a white arrow and the message “No data”.
I then managed to send the existing sightings by adding a new sighting, and then go to Send Data and pressing the (now) black arrow. The subsequent file on the FTP server contained both the old and the new sightings.
- Web Update, Check for update on launch:
did not seem to have any affect. Even when unchecked, the project would automatically update on my device when I first opened it after putting a new version on the web server.
Also one question. If the “Clear data after send” setting is unchecked, how do I do then manually delete sightings later to free up space?