Updating a Multiple select list

Hello,

I have several groups of animals. I made a multiple screens, each of the type of “Multiple select list” one per group and each screen have the IDs of all animals. The aim is to use it as a checklist in the field to record the presence of each animal.

The problem is that the membership in each group changes overtime and I would need to delete IDs and sometimes also to delete the screen for this group.

The problem is that in both cases, I loss the data on the CyberTraker online platform. Is there a better way to do this without losing previous data (i.e., to delete the screens from the app, without changing previous data)?

Also, in the past, entering Multiple select list data would result in all enterings presented in one cell. Now each of them gets its own column. How do I change it back to have all items in one cell again?

Many thanks in advance,

Yitzchak

In addition… I forsee another problem with this now long-format of the Multiple Select List. I usually download data between some time periods, work through the notes and then add it to my already cleaned data. I am doing the same as Yizchak: adding and removing individuals. This will now however, change the column names and the additional lines will not match up with previous stored data. If I do not notice the different column headers, the problem is that it just says “Yes” in the cells, so there is no way to back trace what was the header of that column. Is there anyway to go back to the old options where all the selection of the multiple select list end up in one cell? It much less prone to making mistakes. Thank you very much.

Yes, this is also my problem. The (not optimal) solution I use is that after every change in the app (adding names) I download a new copy of the data and save it with the same name but a different date. Not great at all though….

Yes… But it seems like we are the only one having a problem with this? Maybe there were a lot of request to change it?

Hello Rosanne, I also have the same problem. It is so confusing since it looks like I have a different Excel sheet now and cannot revert or add it to the original sheets I am used to.